Rebooting tourism post-COVID

Image by Te lensFix at Pexels.com
September 28, 2022
Global
Resilience

Tourism is reopening in many countries following the shut downs caused by the coronavirus pandemic. The restart also gives countries a chance to look again at this vital sector, and consider whether tourism can be made more sustainable, inclusive and economically beneficial.

This webinar will look at approaches governments can take to help unlock the benefits of the sector. This event will look at how countries like Australia, New Zealand and those in the Pacific region are managing the return of tourists, and how governments can support businesses, including small and medium-sized enterprises in the sector, make the most of the end of restrictions.

Time

USA/Canada Eastern Time (EST): 04:30 – 06:00
British Summer Time (BST): 09:30 – 11:00
Central European Summer Time (CEST): 10:30 – 12:00
Eastern European Summer Time (EEST): 11:30 – 13:00
Singapore Time (SGT): 16:30 – 18:00
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): 18:30 – 20:00

Panel

John Allen, Chief Executive, WellingtonNZ, New Zealand

John Allen is an experienced chief executive, having led New Zealand Post, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade and, most recently, the New Zealand Racing Board prior to his current position as Chief Executive Officer of WellingtonNZ.

He serves on serval boards and is the currently Chancellor Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington.

———————————————————————————————————————

Dr Chris Howard, Senior Research and Data Analyst, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, New Zealand

Biography to follow

Jan Hutton, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Tourism Data Warehouse

Jan is a trusted business leader and advisor, with an ability to identify and drive growth. She has a proud track record, delivering strategies that enhance competitive positioning for companies and countries. With specialisation in developing purpose-led organisations and an acute focus on sustainability, Jan has acquired specialist expertise in unlocking opportunities within travel and tourism.

Having international experience in both government and private sector, as former Managing Director within the Ogilvy group, Director and board member of The Nielsen Company, CMO of South African Tourism, CMO of Deloitte Consulting Africa, CMO of Destination Gold Coast, GM Marketing for Destination NSW, and currently CEO of Australian Tourism Data Warehouse, Jan’s career path has been deliberately unconventional, a combination of strategic leadership in management consulting, digital transformation, marketing and place development. A well-regarded senior executive and clear thinker with a ambitious spirit, Jan makes an impact by bringing insight and inspiration to maximise competitiveness.

Nick Jones, Executive Director, Destination Development, South Australian Tourism Commission

Nick Jones is the Executive Director of the South Australian Tourism Commission’s Destination Development Group, with the key focus of driving the supply side of the South Australian tourism industry.

Nick has played a key role in increasing the accessibility to South Australia, attracting new hotel and infrastructure development, and regional tourism development. He oversaw the negotiation and introduction of new international airlines to South Australia, record cruise visitation growth and the development of the South Australian touring routes to capitalise on the significant self-drive market.

He is a member of the Regional Visitor Strategy 2025 Steering Committee. His team also managed the $20 million Tourism Industry Development Fund, designed to help regional tourism operators improve and diversify their offerings to grow visitation.  

Nick and his team continue to work hard to help South Australia’s tourism industry reach its full potential and capitalise on significant post-COVID opportunities.

Nick joined the SATC after a number of years in senior consumer and trade marketing, sales and management roles with Publishing and Broadcasting Limited, at the time, the owners of Channel Nine Network and Australian Consolidated Press.

Webinar chair: Siobhan Benita, former UK senior civil servant

Siobhan Benita was a senior civil servant with over 15 years’ Whitehall experience. She worked in many of the major delivery departments, including Transport, Environment, Health and Local Government. She also had senior roles at the heart of Government in the Cabinet Office and HM Treasury, including supporting the then Cabinet Secretary, Lord O’Donnell to lead work on Civil Service reform and strategy. Siobhan left the Civil Service to run as an independent candidate in the Mayor of London election. She subsequently joined her alma mater, Warwick University as Chief Strategy Officer of Warwick in London and Co-Director of the Warwick Policy Lab.