Delivering Central Bank Digital Currencies (CBDCs): Exploring the Technology Challenge

April 22, 2021
Global
Finance

Most central banks are researching or experimenting with central bank digital currencies (CBDC) – an increasingly hot topic across the globe.

Examples include China’s journey towards a digital yuan to the Bahamas’ launch of its ‘sand dollar’. The European Central Bank (ECB) will decide whether to start a CBDC project by mid-2021. CBDC is also among six priorities set out by the Bank for International Settlements’ (BIS) Innovation Hub in its 2021-2022 work programme.

With a group of leading central banks having identified the ‘foundational principles’ required for CDBCs (in October 2020), focus is increasingly turning to the technology that will help deliver CBDCs.

With central banks collectively representing one fifth of the world’s population likely to launch retail CBDCs in the next three years (according to BIS), this webinar – supported by our knowledge partner Amazon Web Services – will examine the different technological solutions that will deliver CBDCs.

Focusing on retail (or general purpose) CBDCs – central bank digital currencies that are issued to the general public – our panel will address these questions:

  • What are the main technological considerations for those exploring CBDCs?
  • Are the technologies available – both blockchain and centralised databases – capable of rising to the challenge of delivering CBDCs?
  • How do ambitions for enhanced features such as programmability (‘programmable money’) and offline use impact on the technology questions?
  • How can CBDCs’ design help deliver real benefits for citizens and national economies?

#CBDC #CBDCtech

Time

British Summer Time (BST): 10:00 – 11:15
Central European Summer Time (CEST): 11:00 – 12:15
Eastern European Summer Time (EEST): 12:00 – 13:15
Singapore Time (SGT): 17:00 – 18:15
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): 19:00 – 20:15

Public servants can register here for free to attend this webinar