Governance, Regulation and Culture in Whitehall and Westminster

August 23, 2024
Global
Resilience

Much of the activity that talks place in Whitehall remains opaque to outsiders. Even if you manage to get to grips with the sheer scale of Whitehall’s responsibilities and activities (everything from national security to bees policy), the cultures, attitudes and procedures can still sometimes seem a complete mystery.

In this second of four Global Government Forum webinars designed to explain how government in the UK really works, we shall be examining the governance, regulation and culture of Whitehall and Westminster.

Organisational cultures are key to how any operation functions, and we shall be looking into everything from civil service and ministerial codes, to ethics advisors and independent standards committees, onto parliamentary scrutiny of the government, and formal legal and regulatory frameworks and powers.

The webinar will take in its stride how formal structures interact with cultures and processes in everyday working practice, explaining the context of the why as well as the how. The intention is to give you a proper understanding of the ways on which both overarching and specific principles of accountability and transparency are applied in government workflows on a daily basis.

Register here for free to attend this webinar

Time

USA/Canada Eastern Time (ET): 06:00 – 07:15
British Summer Time (BST): 11:00 – 12:15
Central European Summer Time (CEST): 12:00 – 13:15
Eastern European Summer Time (EEST): 13:00 – 14:15
Singapore Time (SGT): 18:00 – 19:15
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): 20:00 – 21:15